College Football Talk

Commentary, Picks of the Week, Polls and More…

The Beginning of the CFB season

with 2 comments

Today is the Sunday after a exciting week one in college football.  Many teams did exactly what they were supposed to do, while other teams play much better than the media gave them credit for.  One thing is for sure, UT won and OU lost.  I know there will be people out there that will nit pick at the means to each of their own loses and wins but a win is a win and at the end of the day UT remains undefeated while OU remains win-less.

Other games that stuck out during this past weekend were the Oregon vs Boise State game that happened this past Thursday, the game was hard to watch.  Very sloppy on both sides but Boise State stuck in there and out lasted the Ducks of Oregon.  Although many people that watched the game did not get to see the real action that happened after the game clock hit zero.  While the teams were having their normal after game hand shakes Boise State player Byron Hout a defensive end traded words with Oregon Running back LeGarrette Blount.  I would have to assume that Blount did not receive those words kindly because Blount returned those words with a stiff punch to the jaw of Hout.  I may add Hout looks to have a glass jaw and should be grateful he wears a helmet when he is on the field.  The proper action has been taken for what I see as being a blatant showing from Blount that he isnt ready for college football or to be at a college period.  For someone of his caliber and talent to have such a short fuse shows that he thinks too much of himself in that he is irreplaceable when it comes to what he could be for his team.  It shows selfishness for himself and a lack of want to care for his team and how his actions will effect it.  He is suspended for the rest of the season with probably no chance to red-shirt one more season.  His only chance is to transfer to D2 or D3 schools so he can play.  Tough luck buddy.

Moving on to the rest of the Top 25 notables.  USC and Florida both showed up and did what everyone knew they were going to do against their undermanned and under coached opponents.  Oklahoma st showed the SEC how to play real football by beating Georgia in Stillwater.  Ohio State escaped narrowly with a win against Navy, yes that’s right I said Navy….if this is any showing of how “good” Ohio State is going to be this year I surely hope that all the voters will see once and for all that the Big 10 is becoming more overrated than the Pac-10 this year.

I did not get to see the actual UT game because of the fact that it was on PPV which I think is stupid since I live in Austin…dont see why it isnt picked up by atleast a local cable access channel or something.  But I digress, I heard UT was going to work like we all knew they would but there were people that were not too happy with the defensive showing of the Horns..hopefully I will be able to add more insight when I visually get to watch a whole game.  Also I am sure Austin (the other person who will be posting on this blog) will be able to comment more info on to this post.

I was up last night pretty late and saw the last quarter of the Washington vs LSU game.  Two things came to mind, even though Washington lost the game in a pretty normal manner they did have the resolve to put together a 1:30 second drive which ended with a touchdown pass with no time left on the clock.  Secondly, LSU should get down on themselves for letting Washington score that TD with such little time on the clock. They should have dug in deep and realized the opponent wasn’t playing to win, they were playing for confidence that they greatly needed to roll them into the next week vs Boise and then vs USC.  I think Washington is definitely a sleeper team that should be watched for this year.  LSU on the other hand has talent and coaching and from what I saw it didn’t totally show itself on the field.  It further reinforces my bias that the SEC is almost all garbage.  Not to say they don’t have fast people because I am sure they do but the way football is played there sometimes makes me want to fall asleep.  I have yet to see a Bama or LSU game where I was super excited (that is unless either of those teams get their trash kicked)

I guess if you are reading this you know I think the Big 12 is where its at, that’s just me and I do want to promote good conversation with the occasional rowdy debate.  I want all fans of college football to voice what they think and I am going to be posting on here 1-2 times a week with a wrapup of the games and highlights.  Austin will also do his own thing and I am excited to see what comes of it this season.

One thing is for sure I ❤ College Football

Jon

Written by Jon Castano

September 6, 2009 at 9:11 pm

Posted in Commentary

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I still think Boise State also should have taken some disciplinary action against Hout for being an instigator. Clearly it should be a much lighter sentence, as he was mostly a victim in this, but I don’t think it would be out of line to force him to at least sit for the first half of the next game. At least the first half.

    Austin

    September 8, 2009 at 4:34 pm

  2. I wont argue with that. I don’t condone acting like a sore winner.

    bigskyjon

    September 8, 2009 at 5:01 pm


Leave a Reply

