College Football Talk

Commentary, Picks of the Week, Polls and More…

Week 3 Picks

with 4 comments

To recap, after last week’s picks, this is where we stand:

Austin:  17-4

Jon:  19-2

As for this week’s picks, Jon went out on a limb more than I did by picking three upsets against my lone one. We’ll see how it works out. And come back for my post tomorrow to find out why Jon picking Nebraska over Va. Tech is a more gutsy pick than he thought it was when he made it.


Austin Jon
#1 Florida vs. Tennessee Florida Florida
#2 Texas vs. Texas Tech Texas Texas
#3 USC at Washington USC USC
#4 Alabama vs. North Texas Alabama Alabama
#5 Penn State vs. Temple Penn St. Penn St.
#5 Mississippi vs. SE Louisiana Mississippi Mississippi
#7 BYU vs. Florida St. BYU BYU
#8 California at Minnesota California California
#9 LSU vs. Louisiana-Lafayette LSU LSU
#10 Boise St. at Fresno St. Boise St. Boise St.
#11 Ohio St. at Toledo Ohio St. Ohio St.
#12 Oklahoma vs. Tulsa Oklahoma Oklahoma
#13 Va. Tech vs. #19 Nebraska Va. Tech Nebraska
#14 Georgia Tech vs. #20 Miami (FL) Miami Georgia Tech
#15 TCU vs. Texas State TCU TCU
#16 Oklahoma St. vs. Rice Oklahoma St. Oklahoma St.
#17 Cincinnati at Oregon St. Cincinnati Oregon St.
#18 Utah at Oregon Utah Oregon
#22 Kansas vs. Duke Kansas Kansas
#23 Georgia at Arkansas Georgia Georgia
#24 North Carolina at East Carolina North Carolina North Carolina
#25 Michigan vs. E. Michigan Michigan Michigan

Written by Austin Swafford

September 17, 2009 at 5:10 am

Posted in Picks of the Week

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well, you guys both know that I follow NC, and I’m glad to see you both picked us to win over ECU, but I am little more scared about that matchup than you two are. Here’s to hoping!!

    Jeff

    September 17, 2009 at 7:20 am

    • ECU’s been good in the past, so I genuinely gave this some thought. But they barely beat I-A Appalachian State at home and they lost on the road to a pretty bad West Virginia team that is still very much rebuilding. Not saying ECU couldn’t give UNC some struggles, but I think UNC will win. I also agree with a private prediction Jon made that UNC could fall out of the top 25 even with a win. They need to impress this week to stay ahead of Missouri and Notre Dame.

      Austin Swafford

      September 17, 2009 at 12:37 pm

  2. I stand by all of my picks. Sometimes you just gotta roll the dice. We will see if I am going to be eating my words on Sunday.

    Jon Castano

    September 17, 2009 at 12:04 pm

  3. I still stand by my picks after watching Ga Tech get man handled by Miami sheesh

    Jon Castano

    September 18, 2009 at 1:35 am


Leave a Reply

