College Football Talk

Commentary, Picks of the Week, Polls and More…

Week 4 Picks

with 3 comments

Last week I was 19-3 on picks while Jon was 17-5, tying up our season picks at 36-7 a piece.  And we differed on quite a few again this week, so there’s plenty of room for more movement.  Our week 4 picks are…


Austin Jon
#1 Florida at Kentucky Florida Florida
#2 Texas vs. UTEP Texas Texas
#3 Alabama vs. Arkansas Alabama Alabama
#4 Mississippi at South Carolina South Carolina Mississippi
#5 Penn State vs. Iowa Penn State Penn State
#6 California at Oregon California California
#7 LSU at Mississippi St. LSU LSU
#8 Boise State at Bowling Green Boise St. Boise St.
#9 Miami (FL) at #11 Va. Tech Miami (FL) Miami (FL)
#12 USC vs. Washington St. USC USC
#13 Ohio St. vs. Illinois Ohio St. Ohio St.
#14 Cincinnati vs. Fresno St. Cincinnati Fresno St.
#15 TCU at Clemson TCU TCU
#16 Oklahoma St. vs. Grambling St. Oklahoma St. Oklahoma St.
#17 Houston vs. Texas Tech Houston Texas Tech
#18 Florida St. vs. South Florida Florida St. Florida St.
#19 BYU vs. Colorado St. BYU BYU
#20 Kansas vs. Southern Miss Kansas Kansas
#21 Georgia vs. Arizona St. Georgia Georgia
#22 North Carolina at Georgia Tech North Carolina Georgia Tech
#23 Michigan vs. Indiana Michigan Michigan
#24 Washington at Stanford Stanford Washington
#25 Nebraska vs. LA-Lafayette Nebraska Nebraska

Written by Austin Swafford

September 23, 2009 at 1:09 pm

Posted in Picks of the Week

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m putting Alabama, Ole Miss, Penn St, Cal, and Miami ALL on upset-alert. There’s more bad match-ups in there than you might see at first glance… Alabama’s defense is really good, but not as good against the pass as the rush. Mississippi hasn’t really proven anything yet, and night road games are always dangerous, especially when the coach on the other sideline is Steve Spurrier. Penn State is after revenge, but should be more worried about their unimpressive offense being able to move the ball against an Iowa defense that’s given up only two offensive TD’s in three games. California also has yet to prove anything, except that they can eek out a win at Minnesota, picked to finish no higher than 5th in the Big 10. Miami will face a defense almost on par with the one in Oklahoma that kept them under wraps most of the game, but against a team without the emotional handicap of a missing star Heisman trophy-winning quarterback.

    There are probably five or six more games that could be upsets or closer-than-you-think scares in the top 25. I think it might be a couple weeks into conference match-ups before we start to get a real picture of where these polls should really be.

    zeekgeek

    September 23, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    • I agree about all of them being possible upsets and close games. I took a good, long look at each of those games before I made my picks. I like Ole Miss to lose for many reasons I’ll elaborate on tomorrow. Arkansas has a legit offense, but I’m more concerned with them being able to stop Alabama’s offense. After what I saw against Georgia, I don’t like their chances. Same thing for Penn State-Iowa. Both have good defenses, but I have bigger doubts about what Iowa can do against Penn State’s. This could be one of those 6-3 games, and I like Penn State in that situation.

      I’ll grant that Cal hasn’t proven anything. It makes me grit my teeth any time I see them that high. And Autzen is always a tough place to play. But, I don’t see Oregon pulling off back-to-back upsets. Plus, Oregon can’t stop the run. Teams are averaging 151 yards rushing per game against them. And Cal can really run. They’re making a big deal about Boateng being out, but they have only five passing TDs this year versus 15 rushing TDs. The Bears still have a QB with a 170.6 rating and two running backs that average better than seven yards per carry. Cal might struggle, but I don’t see Oregon stopping them.

      I also think I’ve made it perfectly clear I’m not sold on Miami. But, I’m even less sold on Va Tech, even at home. Their offense is lousy. Their defense is stout, but I don’t think they’ll put up enough points on Miami to win.

      Austin Swafford

      September 23, 2009 at 3:27 pm

      • Yep, I’m with you all the way here. I guess I’m just imagining that if I wasn’t watching the games this week, and woke up next Monday with the news that half the top 25 lost, I’d be surprised but not shocked.

        zeekgeek

        September 23, 2009 at 5:08 pm


Leave a Reply

