College Football Talk

Commentary, Picks of the Week, Polls and More…

Week 4 Picks Recap

with 3 comments

The week was probably one of the weirdest weeks of college football in a long time.  If the polls hadn’t been shaken up enough, lets go through to see what damage has been done.

Week 4 pick results

Austin 18-5

Jon 15-8

Season Results

Austin 54-12

Jon 51-15

Looks like Austin easily takes the lead, maybe next time I should really just go with my gut instict instead of picking underdogs too much.

Written by Jon Castano

September 27, 2009 at 3:44 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You don’t need to stop picking underdogs. It was the chalk picks that did you in. You just have to stop picking the wrong underdogs. Jaja. I had two underdog picks (South Carolina and Stanford) that worked out. You had one in Georgia Tech that worked out. It would have been a totally different weekend if either of us had Iowa, Oregon, Virginia Tech and/or South Florida. I don’t know about you, but I gave all of those upsets serious consideration, except South Florida. I never thought they’d win with Groethe out. Florida State’s gonna have a hard time getting back into the top 25 this season after that loss.

    Austin Swafford

    September 27, 2009 at 10:35 am

  2. My crazy picks got me 19-4 this week, but they were actually crazy… I’m sure I’m way behind the two of you overall. Put your earplugs in on Monday, Jon, I’m gonna do a lot of talking!

    Homer commentary of the week: So, this is the ultimate disrespect in the USA Today poll (and will lead me to a rant on polls and such down the road): Penn State is now ranked 13th, four spots AHEAD of 17th ranked Iowa. Penn State’s previous three opponents, by the way, a combined 4-7, while all four of Iowa’s opponents (Penn State included) each have only one loss. To Iowa. I’m a little tired of the reputation game. What’s worse, in this case it’s not even defensible… Iowa has a better record than Penn State overall since 2000, more bowl appearances (and bowl wins) and the same number of conference titles. Okay, I’m done ranting. For a week. Maybe.

    zeekgeek

    September 27, 2009 at 2:11 pm

    • Yeah I have mentioned it 2 or 3 times since yesterday to Austin that I am going to get an earful. I think I am just going to go ahead and call in to work. I was like OMG I cant believe the score when I saw the score. LOL.

      Jon Castano

      September 27, 2009 at 4:02 pm


Leave a Reply

