College Football Talk

Commentary, Picks of the Week, Polls and More…

Week 9 Picks

with 5 comments

Jon took the lead again in picks last week:

Jon:  111-29

Austin:  109-31

He insists he’ll be keeping the lead this time.  This week could be a real separating one for us as we differ on four picks.  Jon picked four upsets; I picked two.  And we only agree on one of them – Auburn over No. 25 Mississippi.  Not even much of an upset there.  And even though it’s not an upset, taking USC over Oregon sure feels like one when you’re picking them in the face of this ESPN.com story – Ducks bring the noise at Autzen Stadium.

Austin Jon
#1 Florida vs. Georgia Florida Florida
#3 Texas at #14 Oklahoma State Texas Texas
#4 Iowa vs. Indiana Iowa Iowa
#5 USC at #10 Oregon USC Oregon
#6 TCU vs. UNLV TCU TCU
#7 Boise St. vs. San Jose St. Boise St. Boise State
#8 Cincinnati at Syracuse Cincinnati Cincinnati
#9 LSU vs. Tulane LSU LSU
#11 Georgia Tech at Vanderbilt Georgia Tech Georgia Tech
#12 Penn St. at Northwestern Penn State Penn State
#13 Virginia Tech vs. North Carolina Virginia Tech Virginia Tech
#16 Utah vs. Wyoming Utah Utah
#17 Ohio St. vs. New Mexico St. Ohio St. Ohio St.
#18 Houston vs. Southern Miss Houston Houston
#19 Miami (FL) at Wake Forest Miami (FL) Miami (FL)
#21 West Virginia at South Florida West Virginia South Florida
#22 South Carolina at Tennessee Tennessee South Carolina
#23 Notre Dame vs. Washington St. Notre Dame Notre Dame
#24 California at Arizona St. California Arizona St.
#25 Mississippi at Auburn Auburn Auburn


Written by Austin Swafford

October 29, 2009 at 7:00 am

Posted in Picks of the Week

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I hope your right Austin… I’ve got almost all the same picks except USC, I think the Ducks are starting to live up to the pre-season Hype and Chip Kelly is getting comforable in his Head Coaching job. Auburn was also my “upset” (hardly) of the week since Ole Miss has been very over rated and offensively anemic most of the season. I also took FSU again (crossing my fingers) over NC St and Tech over Kansas. COME BABY! DADDY NEEDS NEW SHOES!!

    T-Rizzle

    October 29, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    • I took a good look at Oregon over USC but there is a glaring problem that made me take USC. I’ll write about that tomorrow. I’ve got some in-depth thinking into some of my picks. Taking FSU is always bold. And I don’t even know what to make of Kansas this year. There are times they look so good and times they look so bad. I guess that’s what happens when you have a spotty defense and no running game.

      Austin Swafford

      October 29, 2009 at 4:12 pm

  2. Wow. North Carolina beats Va. Tech… how bad is the ACC? Georgia Tech is gonna take a hit in the ‘puters because of that, and they haven’t even played yet.

    I’m not counting out Wake Forest against Miami either… everyone’s got a shot in that conference. Or how about Wyoming over Utah? I know, I know, a bit of a stretch, but if you’re looking for upsets…

    Nobody’s giving Georgia a chance, huh? Hmm. I am. 🙂

    zeekgeek

    October 29, 2009 at 10:32 pm

    • Yeah. Jon and I were just laughing about our picks already being messed up. The ACC is horrible. Please don’t get me started on another rant about how they need to lose their automatic bid. Georgia Tech will get an undeserved bowl (if they don’t lose to someone even worse like Clemson or Wake) and get SMOKED by Cincinnati.

      And I gave Georgia a chance. Until I looked at their stats. I have a good reason for not picking them which I will also detail tomorrow.

      Austin Swafford

      October 29, 2009 at 10:40 pm

    • Wyo is NOT going to beat Utah….period. And Georgia is not an outstanding team.

      You will be wrong on both if you are saying they are your picks Zeek

      Jon Castano

      October 30, 2009 at 12:28 am


Leave a Reply

