College Football Talk

Commentary, Picks of the Week, Polls and More…

News Of The Day: Kansas’s Mangino Resigns

with 8 comments

My prediction that their respective losses two weeks ago would mark the end of their current contracts for Charlie Weis, Mark Mangino and Rich Rodriguez is coming to fruition nicely.  News came this past weekend that Notre Dame was cutting ties with Weis.  And news came yesterday that Mangino resigned from Kansas.

It looks like a sympathy move by the university to me.  Kansas had to get rid of Mangino one way or another, so they let arguably the most successful coach in the school’s history leave gracefully.  My guess is that he’ll take a year or two off and land somewhere else that he can rebuild his rep, a la Bob Huggins.

That makes me two-thirds right on the second longest long-term prediction I’ve ever made.  I’ll be waiting patiently for news out of Michigan.  Come on, RichRod, don’t let me down!

Written by Austin Swafford

December 4, 2009 at 2:42 am

Posted in Commentary

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I could see Mangino going to a struggling high profile school as an offensive coordinator, and helping to revive tradition, then becoming another popular name in the coaching rumor mill. He could pick the program he goes to with his reputation cleaned up again

    T-Ray The Bad Mofo

    December 4, 2009 at 4:33 pm

  2. I am sticking to my belief that RichRod gets one more year (at least)…

    It would be very awkward to fire him right now. The school is looking for a new AD, he has the support of the UM President and the school’s largest donor. There is just too much turmoil for UM to add a new head football coach hunt to the mix.

    But anything less than 7-5 and a bowl win next season is probably the end of him.

    zeekgeek

    December 4, 2009 at 9:33 pm

    • Yeah, I’m thinking I may have put too much weight on the pr problems he had at the beginning of the season. Those were really bad, but it’s ancient history now. Nobody even remembers that. If it had happened at the end of the season, like it did for Mangino, I really think we’d be having a different conversation. Michigan didn’t have to fight the image of a program spiraling out of control like Kansas did. Any time that happens it’ll be impossible for a coach to keep his job.

      Austin Swafford

      December 4, 2009 at 9:41 pm

      • Agree, Austin.

        So, who do y’all think will be some replacements? (Especially for Weis?) A lot of the A-lister’s have already said they are not available (for whatever that’s worth), and some aren’t commenting before the bowl games are over. And even thought RichRod might not be going… I would be some of the assistants there will be. Who are your favorites? Here are mine:

        Notre Dame — Brian Kelly, Cincinnati Head Coach
        Kansas — Kevin Sumlin, Houston Head Coach

        zeekgeek

        December 4, 2009 at 10:18 pm

  3. Brian Kelly’s stock keeps going up… and he has been quoted today as admitting he would “be willing to talk to Notre Dame.”

    …And Pitt goes and screws up yet another of my BCS bowl match-up picks. That’s a team I can never quite get my head around… kind of reminds me of the Dallas Cowboys, to tell you the truth. Like they just can’t quite find their “niche”.

    I have no more upsets left for BCS picks (unless you count Iowa and Boise State upsets), so from my end it looks like bowl season will actually be even less exciting than I had originally anticipated. Double yuck.

    zeekgeek

    December 5, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    • I’m still interested to see what matchups we get. Everyone knows who’s going to bowl games. We still don’t know for sure who will invite either Iowa or Penn State and who will invite TCU and Boise State. There are some really good potential matchups, but I’m fairly certain we won’t get the ones I’d like to see. Which will make it a dull bowl sesaon.

      Austin Swafford

      December 5, 2009 at 4:13 pm

  4. Did Skip Holtz just take the Notre Dame head coach job for himself with that win over Houston?! 🙂

    CBS is reporting Notre Dame may make an announcement for the new head coach on Sunday… which to me would seem to rule out Brian Kelly, but I don’t know… maybe they talked to him weeks ago. (I have heard only rumors through Rivals.com employees that ND did in fact speak with a number of current coaches a few weeks back, including Chip & Brian Kelly, RichRod, Kirk Ferentz, and Jim Harbaugh. They say they did not speak with Urban Meyer.)

    zeekgeek

    December 5, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    • Skip Holtz makes a lot more sense for me than Brian Kelly does. Brian Kelly already has a nice job with a BCS school where he doesn’t have to deal with near the scrutiny he would at Notre Dame. If I were the head coach at a school where you can make good money making fairly easy runs at BCS Bowls every year like Kelly does, I wouldn’t leave, either. But Skip Holtz and his ability to build a solid defense looks like a great fit for Notre Dame. I’d like that hire for them.

      Austin Swafford

      December 5, 2009 at 6:52 pm


Leave a Reply

