College Football Talk

Commentary, Picks of the Week, Polls and More…

BCS Bowls

with 11 comments

BCS National Championship

#1 Alabama vs #2 Texas

I was listening to the rants of Jimmy Johnson and Marshall Faulk about how people at TCU feel like they were robbed of the chance to play in the national championship.  They must have known pretty well that if Texas won that Texas would pretty much be a lock for the championship.  I guess they will have to do as Utah did last year and go to their senator and waste everyone’s time. 

This matchup seems like it will either be one for the ages much like the last one Texas played in, or it might be a blow out.  One thing is for sure if Bama plays like they did against Florida and is Texas plays as they did against Nebraska it will not be very good for us Texas fans.

Rose Bowl

#7 Oregon vs #8 Ohio St.

This is probably the most exciting bowl besides the national championship in the BCS bowls.  I will be playing my chips on Oregon to win this one.  Mainly because I never ever go for Ohio St. (just dont like em) Both teams were strong down the stretch but Oregon seems to be flying high since they got their act together as a team and being coached by Chip Kelly didn’t hurt them either.  Ohio St.  needs a massive performance from Terrell Pryor to even seem to have a chance in this game.  The Buckeye defense even as good as they are will have trouble against this Duck offense that can pretty much score anytime and with many different people.

Sugar Bowl

#3 Cincinnati vs #5 Florida

Florida is in dangerous territory when coming into this Sugar bowl.  Much like the Oklahoma vs Boise St and Utah vs Bama games, they must not sulk and say they deserve more.  Cincy is ready to lay the wood to each opponent it comes up against and they will not back down when they face the Gators.  This might turn out to be a great game but I am not holding my breath, Urban Meyer doesnt lose too often and coming off of an SEC loss the Bearcats will have their hands full with a newly resolute Tim Tebow and company to face.

Fiesta Bowl

#4 TCU vs #6 Boise St.

I will anxiously be awaiting this game.  I know Austin doesnt agree with me on how exciting this game will be but I so so so want to watch Boise St. lose.  I hate them and I hate how they have become such a fake by playing so many horrible schools.  Yes they get good wins off once or twice a year.  I refuse to respect a team that makes its name off of a weak conference.  On a sidenote I would totally back up a conference shift to take teams like Boise St. and TCU out of their conference just to promote more competition in strong conference (i.e. more conferences like the SEC)

TCU does not deserve to be in the national championship but I do believe they should have been #3 in the BCS and not shaved out by Cincy.  Oh well guess all you can do is sit back and wait for things to work themselves out in their own bowls.

Orange Bowl

#9 Georgia Tech vs #10 Iowa

Probably the least exciting bowl out of all the BCS games this year.  Zeekgeek made the point to me that Iowa travels well but I dont think that will help out to get me interested in this matchup.  I want Iowa to win this one because I just think the ACC is laughable this season and is even more laughable at BCS games this decade.  Honestly I think Iowa needs Stanzi to come out with the victory but I guess anything can happen.

Written by Jon Castano

December 9, 2009 at 12:43 pm

Posted in Commentary

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Zeek’s outlook:

    BCS National Championship

    I think Alabama is really good. But I also think their defense is not as good as it looks on paper (I think that about the entire SEC this year). I see Alabama struggling but managing a few big plays, while Texas moves the ball consistently with better field position and controls the clock most of the game.
    Texas 41 – Alabama 24

    Rose Bowl

    I’m not convinced Oregon is any better than, say, Penn State. I don’t see anyone on their schedule that plays defense anywhere near what Ohio State will bring to this game. Yes, Pryor will be a coin toss, so the best I can say is that the defense will keep Ohio State in this game. The winner might just be the team that has the ball last.
    Ohio State 23 – Oregon 20

    Sugar Bowl

    I don’t think Florida comes into this game sulking, and I don’t think they believe they deserve anything better. Cincinnati on the other hand, may actually be distracted by grumblings of “not getting a fair shake at the National Championship”. Either way, I don’t think Florida slows the Bearcats down enough to matter (see above)… and Florida does not have the weapons for a shootout this year.
    Cincinnati 49 – Florida 21

    Fiesta Bowl

    Everyone is excited about this game. Or, that’s what ESPN and FOX would like us to believe. The truth is, pretty much nobody is excited about this rematch, especially not TCU or Boise State fans. But it’s hard to complain too loud about being in a BCS game at all. Look for Boise State to get truly exposed in this one.
    TCU 45 – Boise State 17

    Orange Bowl
    (Full Disclosure — Zeekgeek is an Iowa fan. Duh.)

    I am equally excited as I am nervous about this game. Iowa traditionally has trouble with option offenses, but they are faster than people think and have great discipline and tackling skills on defense (not to mention a tendency for take-aways). Georgia Tech is a big-play team with the second best run-game in the country on paper, but as Jon points out, the ACC is nothing to write home about this year. Georgia Tech has struggled to score against the three or four best defenses they’ve faced this year, and expect that trend to continue. Meanwhile, with Stanzi and all the running backs at full strength, Georgia Tech has shown nothing to indicate they’ll be able to stop even Iowa’s “anemic” offense.

    Iowa 31 – Georgia Tech 21

    zeekgeek

    December 9, 2009 at 4:29 pm

    • I’m only with you on two of your picks, Zeek. I have Texas winning over Alabama by one touchdown or less (but y’all know I’d love a blowout).

      You have two Big 10 teams winning this year. That’s more wins than they have in the last three years combined. The Big 10 is riding a six-game BCS losing streak, during which they’ve lost by an average of over 17 points. Ohio State versus Texas last year is the only loss they’ve had by less than 14 points in the last three years. I think they break the losing streak this year, but they don’t bust it open with two wins.

      Ohio State’s defense definitely keeps them in the game, but I think Oregon comes out on top. Iowa tops Georiga Tech because, even with their struggles against the option, I think Iowa tops a team from THE worst conference in college football. A margin of 10 seems about right here.

      I also agree about TCU beating Boise State handily. Boise State hasn’t played anyone that’s even pretty good since Oregon put up that stinker in week one. TCU’s offense and defense are both too much and I think they run away with it.

      And Cincy crushing Florida…definitely not with you on that. Florida doesn’t have to have the offensive weapons to hang in this game. It won’t be a shootout. Cincy hasn’t played a team with anywhere in the vicinity of this kind of defense this year. And nobody prepared for bowl games like Urban Meyer. I think Florida sends Tebow out on the highest note they can muster by creaming Cincy.

      Austin Swafford

      December 9, 2009 at 10:55 pm

      • As for the Big 10, let me remind you that they were 8-5 in BCS bowls from 1999 to 2006, with only one real blowout loss (*cry* Carson Palmer’s Heisman destruction of Iowa in the 2003 Orange Bowl *cry*). There were only two real blowouts since then, and we all know Illinois had no business being in the 2008 Rose Bowl. Most of the Big 10’s losses during the last three years have been to some of the arguably best college football teams ever.

        I’m not going to make huge leaps of deduction based on the performance of a few teams over a time span of three years. But while 0-6 over that time is sure telling, I just don’t see 0-8 happening. I’ll stick to my picks. 😉

        zeekgeek

        December 16, 2009 at 8:16 pm

  2. Wow, Zeek. VERY optimistic about Texas. Especially considering they’ve had only one blowout bowl game of late, and that was two years ago against Arizona State. Look at the history:

    2008 over Ohio State by 3
    2007 over Arizona State by 18
    2006 over Iowa by 2
    2005 over USC by 3
    2004 over Michigan by 1

    Alabama’s no Arizona State. I don’t see Texas crushing them like that. I think Texas wins, but it’s close and late just like in all their other BCS Bowls.

    And I have to laugh at the punditry being hurt on TCU’s behalf. You have heard no complaints whatever from TCU. They know where they should be playing and they’re completely happy with it. Anyone trying to say otherwise doesn’t know what they’re talking about.

    And you actually misstate my opinion on the TCU-Boise State game. I think it’s the most interesting non-championship bowl of the season. I’m totally looking forward to that one. I think it will be a very excitnig game. I’m just extremely disappointed that TCU and Boise State won’t both have the chance to prove themselves against BCS schools. I wanted to see TCU play Florida and see Boise State play either Cincinnati or Iowa. My concern with this game isn’t that it won’t be thrilling. My concern is that people will delegitimize the winner because they didn’t beat a BCS opponent. I think it was a bad selection by the Fiesta Bowl, both for monetary reasons and for real football reasons.

    Austin Swafford

    December 9, 2009 at 10:27 pm

    • I agree with your analysis almost 100%, but I said earlier from now on my picks will be based entirely on who I want to win, not who I think will win. 🙂

      And I guess I wasn’t really referring to you alone as “TCU fans”… I’ve read a lot of forums about the Fiesta, and the general consensus I’ve seen from TCU fans is, “Yeah, we deserve this bowl, and yeah, it should be a great game, but we would really, really, rather be playing against someone from a BCS conference.” I think as you say, it is a sort of built-in safeguard on the BCS part to minimize the controversy over a second undefeated team that WON’T be the national champion.

      One commentator (sorry, I forget which one) put it best I think, when he said that now we do have a playoff system… it’s one game (Texas vs. Alabama), and the Fiesta is the equivalent of the NIT. Ouch.

      zeekgeek

      December 10, 2009 at 7:19 am

      • Always ready with the excuses for why the Big 10 loses so many bowl games. The teams didn’t belong, their opponets were the best ever, and so on and so forth. Never with concessions, like that the last time the Big 10 won any BCS bowl games was when Penn State needed three overtimes to beat a #22 Florida State that had no business in a BCS bowl, and Ohio State defeated an outrageously overrated #6 Notre Dame team. But very quick on the excuses. lol

        By the way, with Brian Kelly gone, are you standing by your prediction of Cincinnati beating Florida’s brains in?

        Austin Swafford

        December 17, 2009 at 5:55 pm

  3. “This matchup seems like it will either be one for the ages much like the last one Texas played in, or it might be a blow out.” — Blowout? wow… Im sure you dont think Bama is going to get blownout, so you must think Texas might?

    T-Ray The Bad Mofo

    December 16, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    • I have a hard time putting it out of the realm of serious possibility, considering how Texas fared against the two best defenses they played this year. And I think Alabama is better than Oklahoma and Nebraska.

      Austin Swafford

      December 17, 2009 at 5:50 pm

  4. Excuses? Whatever. What is there to concede? Zero for their last six BCS bowls is terrible and doesn’t really need any concessions. But you are always quick to judge the Big 10 on the last three years instead of CONCEDING their good record for the six years before that. All I’m suggesting is that the Big 10 is probably not as good as I think they are, and certainly not as bad as you suggest.

    zeekgeek

    December 17, 2009 at 7:06 pm

    • They ARE as bad as I suggest. They’ve lost their last six BCS bowls. They WERE good, but they’re not right now. I was talking about the present, not how good they have been. The ACC used to be good, too, and Miami used to be an annual title contender. Not to say they can’t recover, but right now, they’re every bit as bad as I say they are.

      Austin Swafford

      December 18, 2009 at 11:45 am

      • They are not. 🙂 The BCS games THIS YEAR have yet to be played. So, they WERE bad the last three years, they WERE good the previous seven, and they have yet to prove if they are good or bad (in BCS bowls) this year. I’ve said it before, and I’m not gonna let anyone slide on it… you, Pat Forde, or anyone… if you’re gonna talk about the now, you can’t include the past by picking and choosing examples in college football. The sample size is just too small to be relevant.

        I’ll buy the idea that they haven’t proven themselves yet this year as a conference, but taking it further than that is just as much hyperbole as me suggesting the entire SEC is overrated.

        If you keep up the argument about any conference being better or worse than another, I’m just going to have to assume that you are pleased as a peach that the BCS computer rankings take conference strength into account.

        zeekgeek

        December 18, 2009 at 3:05 pm


Leave a Reply

